Principal Investigators

Bark-beetle mortality in high-elevation pine by Jeff Hicke

Craig Allen Craig Allen
Geographic focus: Southern Rockies
Affiliation: USGS Fort Collins Science Center, Jemez Mountains Field Station
Email: craig_allen@usgs.gov

Jill Baron Jill Baron
Geographic focus: Central Rockies
Affiliations: USGS Fort Collins Science Center and Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory
Email: jill_baron@usgs.gov

Dan Fagre Dan Fagre
Geographic focus: Northern Rockies
Affiliation: Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center, Glacier National Park
Email: dan_fagre@usgs.gov

Andrew Fountain Andrew G. Fountain
Geographic focus: Glaciers of the western US
Affiliation: Department of Geology, Portland State University
Email: andrew@pdx.edu

Jeff Hicke Jeff Hicke
Geographic focus: Western U.S.
Affiliation: Department of Geography, University of Idaho
Email: jhicke@uidaho.edu

Don McKenzie Don McKenzie
Geographic focus: Western U.S.
Affiliations: USDA Forest Service Pacific Wildland Fire Sciences Laboratory and Fire & Mountain Ecology Lab
Email: donaldmckenzie@fs.fed.us

Dave Peterson Dave Peterson
Geographic focus: Pacific Northwest
Affiliations: USDA Forest Service Pacific Wildland Fire Sciences Laboratory and Fire & Mountain Ecology Lab
Email: peterson@fs.fed.us

Nate Stephenson Nathan Stephenson
Geographic focus: Sierra Nevada
Affiliation: USGS Western Ecological Research Center, Sequoia-Kings Canyon Field Station
Email: nstephenson@usgs.gov

Christina Tague Christina Tague
Geographic focus: Western U.S.
Affiliation: Bren School of Environmental Science & Management, University of California, Santa Barbara
Email: ctague @ bren.ucsb.edu

Collaborators

Bill Anderegg, University of Utah, anderegg@princeton.edu
Drought-induced tree mortality

R. Scott Anderson, Northern Arizona University, scott.Anderson@nau.edu
Synthesis and integration of paleoecological data

Dave Breshears, Los Alamos National Laboratory, daveb@lanl.gov
Collaboration on studies of forest decline and carbon dynamics

Adrian Das, USGS Sequoia and Kings Canyon Field Station, adas@usgs.gov
Forest demography and mortality

Don Falk, University of Arizona, dafalk@email.arizona.edu
Fire climatology and ecosystem science

Jessica Halofsky, University of Washington, jhalo@uw.edu
Adaptation to climate change

Stephanie Kampf, Colorado State University, stephanie.kampf@colostate.edu
Hillsope hydrology and west-wide elevational trends in snowmelt

Bob Keane, US Forest Service, Missoula Fire Lab, rkeane@fs.fed.us
Landscape models and disturbance interactions

Maureen Kennedy, University of Washington, Tacoma, mkenn@uw.edu
Integrated watershed modeling

Jeremy Littell, USGS Alaska Science Center, jlittell@usgs.gov
Fire climatology and climate change

George Malanson, University of Iowa, george-malanson@uiowa.edu
Collaboration on treeline dynamics syntheses and analyses

Nate McDowell, Los Alamos National Laboratory, mcdowell@lanl.gov
Plant physiology, drought stress, and mortality

Carol Miller, Aldo Leopold Wilderness Research Institute, cmiller04@fs.fed.us
Climate change and wilderness fire management

Dennis Ojima, Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory, ojima@heinzctr.org
Adaptation to climate change

Haiganoush Preisler, US Forest Service, hpreisler@fs.fed.us
Statistical modeling of beetle outbreaks

Kenneth Raffa, University of Wisconsin, kfraffa@wisc.edu
Bark-beetle outbreaks

Uma Shankar, University of North Carolina, ushankar@unc.edu
Climate change, wildfire, and air quality

Tom Swetnam, University of Arizona, tswetnam@ltrr.arizona.edu
Synthesis and integration of fire history data and leadership on fire-climate analyses